Thursday, April 9, 2009

TTXGP race entries announced

Press release, View announcement presentation

The TTXGP is the worlds first zero emission carbon free Grand Prix race. It is a motorcycle race, part of the TT series run on the Isle of Mann for over 100 years. The TTXGP race will showcase a diverse range of vehicles capable of reaching Grand Prix race speeds. The Grand Prix will provide an exciting opportunity for leading global innovators in racing and clean emission technologies to compete and prove to the world that being green does not mean being slow.

Snaefell Mountain Course or Mountain Course is a road-racing circuit used for the Isle of Man TT and Manx Grand Prix Races held in the Isle of Man from 1911 and 1923 respectively. The racing is held on public roads closed for racing by an Act of Tynwald (the parliament of the Isle of Man). It is the oldest motor-cycle racing circuit still in use. The course is 37.733 miles (60.72 km) and the start-line is on the A2 Glencrutchery Road in Douglas. The racing circuit is based on a number of public roads on the Isle of Man including the primary A2 Douglas to Ramsey Road, A1 Douglas to Peel Road, A3 Castletown to Ramsey Road and the primary A18 Mountain Road. The highest point of the course is on the primary A18 Mountain Road between the Bungalow and Hailwood's Rise at spot height 422 meters (1,384 feet) above sea level.

The Isle of Man TT races have a long history in motorcycle racing.

The TTXGP race will be only one lap, each lap is 37 miles and at the 20 mile mark is a mountain that rises to 427 meters height. There are two classes, the Professional class where money is no limit, and an Open class. Bikes entered in the Open class will be sold at the end of the race for 20,000 Pounds. The Open class is meant for vehicles built to a set budget using off-the-shelf components only.

The race organizers hope to inspire the development of clean vehicle technology. As has occurred with racing for over a hundred years, the races are as much a proving ground for vehicle technology as it is the challenge of the race itself. Vehicle technology developed in race vehicles routinely makes its way to mass production vehicles.

News coverage:

Feb 6, 2009 OLPC designer styles goes-like-stink electric motorbike, April 9, 2009 Mission Motors Selects Tom Montano As Rider For TTXGP Entry: At TED (Technology, Entertainment, Design) conference in Long Beach, California, Mission Motors unveiled their entrant into the TTXGP. They have designed an electric superbike, the Mission One. It will hit 150 miles/hr, has an average operating range around 150 miles. It uses a liquid-cooled three-phase AC induction motor.

March 13, 2009 British Motorcycle That Doesn't Leak Oil, March 27, 2009 Racy electric EV-ORR, April 8, 2009 EVO Design Solutions TTXGP Entry, home page: Evo Design Solutions has designed the EV-0 RR, a carbon-fiber monococque chassis, forkless single sided front suspension, and twin electric motors. While the article is highly focused on Evo Designs' bike, it also discusses the entry from Mission Motors. Its now known they have two bikes, EV-0 RR is a twin motor bike, EV-0 R is a single motor bike.

March 22, 2009 Third e-bike to line up for 'zero-emission' TT sprint, April 8, 2009 Brammo Enters Enertia TTR in TTXGP, Home page: Brammo announced they would enter the TTXGP with their Enertia motorcycle. It appears from the article their entry is with a stock Enertia, not one specially modified for the race.

March 25, 2009 Isle of Man e-bike trial loses racers: Is about a bike which did not make it into the race. Royce Creasey designed a feet-forward streamlined motorcycle which looks fabulous. However motorcycle racing has had a long ban on streamlining and for some reason racing motorcycles never follow a feet forward design. During the IET presentation TTXGP CEO Azhar Hussain discussed how next year the rules would be relaxed enough to allow this design to be entered. home page #1, home page #2

April 2, 2009 Imperial College of London to enter TTXGP, Home page: It's about an TTXGP entry from, uh, the Imperial College of London. They have converted a 2008 Suzuki Hayabusa, and are using batteries from Valence Technologies. Top speed will be 100 miles/hr.

April 8, 2009 The race is on: Ashland electric vehicle companies plan to compete in a race across the pond to be the fastest clean-emission motorcycle: Two companies from Ashland Oregon are planning to race in the TTXGP. These are Brammo and Barefoot Motors. This article says the Brammo entry is "based on" the Enertia model, with adjustments to battery pack, motor and bodywork, allowing this model to go twice as fast as the stock Enertia. Barefoot Motors normally makes electric ATV's and has created a "very fast" electric motorcycle.

April 8, 2009 MotoCzysz to launch electric superbike at TTXGP: They have announced a carbon-and-aluminum-framed superbike, named the E1pc.

April 8, 2009 Kingston University TTXGP Entry - Firstest, Home Page, Video diary: "Firstest" is the name of their bike.

Please find below a full list of TTXGP teams and their corresponding riders:

HTBLAUVA – TGM (AU) Martin Loicht

eROCKIT (D) Rigo Richter -

eROCKIT (D) David Madsen-Mygdal

XXL (D) Thomas Schoenfelder

TORK (INDIA) Garth Woods

ManTTx Racing (IoM) Dan Kneen

Rondine Racing Team (IT) Alessio Corradi

Brunel X-team (UK) Steve Harper -

EVOdesign (UK) Mick Grant

EVOdesign (UK) Olie Linsdell

EVOdesign (UK) Paul Owen

Imperial TTxGP (UK) Chris Palmer

Kingston University (UK) Maria Costello

Team Agni (UK/INDIA) Robert Barber -

Barefoot Motors Racing (USA) Chris Petty

Brammo/BIKE (USA) Roy Richardson

Cool World Team (USA) Steve Macdonald

Cool World Team (USA) Antonio Maeso

Electric Motorsport (USA) Chris Heath

Electric Motorsport (USA) Marie Hodgson

KillaCycle Racing/Lightning Motorcycles (USA) Alan Connor

Mission Motors (USA) Thomas Montano

MotoCzysz (USA) Mark Miller

External Media